First couple smokes....too much charcoal flavor.

FrankJC

So, im new to smokers and smoking meats. I picked up a used 18" WSM. Tried it twice so far, and all i can taste is charcoal. First i cooked chicken quarters, second time was thick pork chops. Both times the meat was cooked nicely, but it seems the meat absorbed too much charcoal flavor. I used the same plain old Kingsford charcoal, that i have been using in my kettle grill, never had that problem before. All vents were open about half way. Not sure what the problem is but it did not taste good. Any suggestions?

Hi Frank. I'm not the expert that others are, so my feedback might be discounted but I will assume your smoke times were not extensive given that you did quarters and chops. So it prompts me to ask if you allowed your Kingsford to be well-lit with subtle smoke before adding your food.

I, too, use Kingsford but I've read where some folks have a more sensitive palate, so others may also offer recommendations on different charcoal.

Good luck!

I am one of those afflicted with the sensitive palate that BFletcher speaks of. I have found that if I put meat on the smoker while it still has white smoke it can impart very nasty flavors into the meat, especially if you are doing smaller cuts like chicken or pork chops. I like to let my smoker run for at least an hour or as long as it takes for the white smoke to dissipate. I only put meat on when I see a nice thin blue smoke.

Could be the extra sensitivity, and also remember the smoker is designed to cook through heat and smoke vs a kettle which is mostly all heat.

That is, by design a smoker is going to bring more of the smoke up to the food since it's farther from the heat source.

As Mark said, try some wood chunks. Pecan or cherry are good choices that cover most meat. I just buy Weber's bags from HD.

No need to soak, just tuck them into the briquettes. Check out Chris' extensive guides on this site for more detailed info.